This is the "Home" page of the "Advocacy Letter Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Advocacy Letter Project   Tags: advocacy, eleanor holmes norton, letter to congress, policy issues  

This research guide presents information to assist with the Advocacy Letter Project.
Last Updated: Oct 18, 2012 URL: http://tmapchs.libguides.com/advocacy Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Eleanor Holmes Norton

Eleanor Holmes Norton

View Congresswoman Norton's website

Find out more about her on Wikipedia

Check out her Facebook page

 

Writing Letters to Congress

Do you want to know the basics of writing a letter to Congress? Check out an article from usgovinfo.about.com by clicking the image below.

 

What Can You Find in This Guide?

This guide will provide you with:

  • Links to information on Congresswoman Norton (left)
  • Information on how to write letters to Congress (left)
  • Overviews of a variety of community issues (below)
  • Help writing citations (right)
  • Searchable database of controversial topics/current issues (click below)

Do you have questions about this guide? Ask your librarian!

 

Bring Full-Time Librarians, Art and Music Teachers to DC Schools

Nearly half of DC public schools do not have full-time librarians, art or music teachers. Recently, parent groups have joined forces with politicians to demand more funding for school libraries and arts education.

Read this article about “The Public School Librarians, Art and Music Teacher Act of 2012"

Check out this brief including info on "The Public School Librarians" bill proposed by Councilmember Jack Evans

You can search for more articles using EBSCOhost databases (available through the library)! Use login "tma" and "pchs."

Tags: school librarians, art teachers, music teachers, funding, public schools

 

DC Health Care: Is Medicaid Expansion Good or Bad?

Washington, D.C. joined 7 states to expand Medicaid coverage to nearly all adults (before 2014). The previous health care program only covered adults with children or with certain disabilities. While many people support the move (because more people will be able to visit the doctor), others think that the new policy will cause problems for doctors and will increase overall medical costs. What do you think?

Find more info at the links below:

Read an article about the expansion from the American Medical News website

Read a policy brief from the Kaiser Family Foundation on how the Affordable Care Act is affecting Medicaid today

Check out this appeal on behalf of 26 states to stop Medicaid expansion

Will the Affordable Care Act lead to Medicare cuts? This article poses the question.

You can search for more articles using EBSCOhost databases (available through the library)! Use login "tma" and "pchs."

Tags: health care, medicaid, medicare, Affordable Care Act, medicaid expansion

 

Ending Poverty in DC: Which Strategy Is Best?

Image from nytimes.comWith one in three children in DC living in poverty, lawmakers (and ordinary citizens) are searching for ways to solve this difficult problem.

Read about Defeat Poverty DC's policy recommendations for ending poverty

Check out this study about social welfare programs and their effect on poverty

Look at one author's opinion about why we can't end poverty in America (and what might actually work)

You can search for more articles using EBSCOhost databases (available through the library)! Use login "tma" and "pchs."

Tags: poverty, welfare, defeat poverty dc

 

Extending Long-Term Unemployment Benefits: Pros and Cons

Image from citytowninfo.comIn June 2012, 70,000 long-term unemployed Americans ran out of benefits. Many republicans think the cuts are necessary to rescue the economy, while many democrats believe that Americans without paychecks or health insurance need a lifeline. What do you think?

Read this article about the end of long-term unemployment benefits

Check out CNN's take on the issue

Image from washingtonpost.com

(Chart from: washingtonpost.com)

You can search for more articles using EBSCOhost databases (available through the library)! Use login "tma" and "pchs."

Tags: unemployment benefits, long-term unemployed

 

Funding HIV/AIDS Prevention in DC

Image from time.comAlthough it's the nation's capital, Washington, D.C. has HIV/AIDs rates similar to those of some sub-Saharan African countries where resources are severely limited. What can DC do to address this problem?

Read this outline of Washington AIDs Partnership's public policy positions

Check out this article on Fighting HIV/AIDS in Washington, D.C. from Alan Greenberg

You can search for more articles using EBSCOhost databases (available through the library)! Use login "tma" and "pchs."

Tags: HIV, AIDs, prevention, epidemic, Washington D.C.

 

Legalizing Medical Marijuana: A Good or Bad Idea?

Image from time.comMedical marijuana is legal in Washington, D.C., but not everyone agrees that opening cultivation centers in the area will be a good thing. What do you think?

Read this article from the Washington Post about companies set to grow medical marijuana in DC

Check out this brief from the Medical Marijuana Project on the history of legalization in DC

Read more about the pros and cons of Medical Marijuana at procon.org

You can search for more articles using EBSCOhost databases (available through the library)! Use login "tma" and "pchs."

Tags: medical marijuana, legalization, Washington DC

 

Metro Fare Increases: Economy vs. Environment

Image from wmata.comRecent increases in the price of Metro fare mean that it's cheaper for many people to drive cars than to ride the train. Is pumping more money into the Metro system worth the risk that more cars could pose to the environment in the short term? Are the long-term benefits of improving public transit (and getting cars off the road) worth paying more now?

Read this article from the Washington Post about summer 2012 fare increases

Check out this story about future fare increases and ideas about funding priorities

Look at an overview of the Metro expansion (Dulles Corridor) project. How do you think it will affect traffic flow and the environment?

You can search for more articles using EBSCOhost databases (available through the library)! Use login "tma" and "pchs."

Tags: metro, wmata, dc, mass transit, environment, traffic flow

 

Racial Disparities in Child Mortality: What Can Be Done?

Image from nytimes.comStudies have found that while child mortality rates are declining across the U.S., the rate of decline has been lower among African Americans. Can something be done to address this problem?

Find out more info at the links below:

Read an article about the effect of the Medicaid expansion on the disparity in child mortality rates (from EBSCOhost, login: tma, pchs)

Check out this study from the Department of Health and Human Services about disparities in child mortality over time

This article from the National Institute of Child Health & Human Development gives suggestions for ways to lower child mortality

You can search for more articles using EBSCOhost databases (available through the library)! Use login "tma" and "pchs."

Tags: Child mortality, racial disparity, infant mortality

 

Voter ID Laws: Do They Prevent Fraud or Disenfranchize Voters?

Image from uptownmagazine.comIn the Jim Crow Era, governments created rules (like literacy tests and grandfather clauses) to prevent Blacks from voting. Today, many states are requiring people to show certain ID before they can vote, which some argue will prevent millions of eligible voters from casting a ballot. People who support strict ID requirements note that it could help prevent voter fraud. What do you think?

Read this article from Time about how to solve the voter ID debate

Check out this story about a Supreme Court battle over voter ID in Pennsylvania

You can search for more articles using EBSCOhost databases (available through the library)! Use login "tma" and "pchs."

Tags: voter id, fraud, supreme court, debate

My Profile

Profile Image
Kim Ventrella
 

Help With Citations

Do you need help with MLA citations?

Click on the image below to view easy MLA guides published by the OWL Purdue Writing Lab.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip